A Pillar of Defense in Colorado Springs

Domestic Violence Archives

Abuse victims feel encouraged: All you have to do is ask for help

Which is sadder to think about: (1) The fact that countless men and women around the United States are being victimized by domestic violence; or, (2) the fact that victims could make the violence stop at the touch of a button if they knew about the resources available to them, right now? The fact is, no one needs to put up with any kind of domestic violence, and the National Domestic Violence Hotline, family law attorneys and countless other programs are available to offer information and guidance in this regard.

Domestic violence and federal gun possession laws

If you are convicted of a felony domestic violence charge, the Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 bans you from possessing a firearm. The Lautenberg Amendment, which was passed in 1996, bans individuals who have been convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence charge from possessing a firearm.

Domestic violence and stalking

It is not uncommon for domestic violence allegations to also include allegations relating to stalking. Courts recognize that it is not uncommon for an aggrieved spouse or significant other to falsely accuse his or her partner of stalking merely out of anger, or to make such accusations in order to gain the upper hand in divorce or other kinds of legal proceedings. For this reason, even if you have been accused of stalking, courts will be open to hear your side of the story during your criminal defense proceedings.

Dealing with false accusations of domestic violence

When police respond to a home on a report of domestic violence, someone is going to jail. It is supposed to be the primary aggressor. How is this determined? In most cases, police officers will speak to both parties, look for any visible signs of injuries and identify any witnesses. If there are no injuries to speak of or any witnesses, it will come down to which story the officers believe.

In Colorado, Guns And Alcohol Don't Mix

Some gun owners learn the hard way that in Colorado, it's illegal to possess a firearm while intoxicated. This fact can come to their attention quite suddenly, when they find out they are charged with "prohibited use of a weapon" (as defined by CRS 18-12-106) in addition to a DUI or domestic violence charge. It's a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of 3 to 12 months and a fine of up to $1,000.

Tell Us About Your Legal Matter Confidentially

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Our Attorneys

You Have Options And Opportunities. Contact Our Firm Today.

Phone: 719-377-4024
Fax: 719-757-1146

222 East Costilla Street Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Phone: 719-377-4024 Fax: 719-757-1146 Colorado Springs Law Office Map

Connect With Our Firm

Find us on youtube