A Pillar of Defense in Colorado Springs

Drunk Driving Archives

What were the circumstances of your drunk driving arrest?

Let's say you were leaving a Colorado Springs party at about 1 a.m. You had a little bit to drink, but your best friend had even more to drink, so you decided to take a risk and drive her home. Even though you were not anywhere near as intoxicated as your friend, and even though you thought you were within the legal limit, your blood alcohol level was borderline.

When you move out of state, your driving record moves with you

It's hard to escape the law. That's because Colorado is a member of the Interstate Driver License Compact. The Compact enables member states to exchange information regarding driver's license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents with their home states.

8 DWIs in at least 20 years of driving drunk

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the average drunk driver operates a motor vehicle while intoxicated over 80 times before he or she is arrested for the first time. In a story out of Greenley, Colorado, one man was just convicted of his eighth DWI. It isn't too far of a stretch to wonder how many times the man has driven drunk in the past 23 years since he was arrested the first time for driving drunk.

Could my mouthwash cause me to fail a drunk driving breath test?

Have you ever gargled some mouthwash just before jumping into your car on the way to work in the morning? You might not want to do that. Alcohol-based mouthwash products, like Listerine, can cause you to fail a Breathalyzer test for as long as 10 minutes after use. If you're a driver under the age of 21, the effect could last even longer since the blood alcohol content thresholds are even lower for an underage DWI.

Will more states see a decrease in blood alcohol content limits?

In 2015, Colorado passed a law making some drunk driving convictions felonies. The new law was met with quite a bit of resistance. How would the state deal with a drop in the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) needed to be charged with a DUI?

What are the standard field sobriety tests?

Aside from breath alcohol tests like blood tests, urine tests and Breathalyzer tests, there are three primary ways that a Colorado police officer might determine whether you are inebriated during a Standardized Field Sobriety Test. These tests include the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus test, the Walk-and-Turn, and the One-Leg Stand (OLS).

Thousands of Colorado DUI convictions could be thrown out

A scandal involving alleged forged certifications of breath testing machines is rocking the Colorado legal community. It could result in the overturning of thousands of DUI convictions in the state. In an article published on March 14, 2017, the Denver Post provided these basic facts concerning the scandal:

Tell Us About Your Legal Matter Confidentially

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Our Attorneys

You Have Options And Opportunities. Contact Our Firm Today.

Phone: 719-377-4024
Fax: 719-757-1146

222 East Costilla Street Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Phone: 719-377-4024 Fax: 719-757-1146 Colorado Springs Law Office Map

Connect With Our Firm

Find us on youtube