Drunk driving in Colorado is taken very seriously in the state of Colorado. Many times, the person doing the driving has just had one too many and doesn't realize it. The police will probably need to find out your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) by using a Breathalyzer or, if you refuse, by a blood test later.
"Per se" laws in a driving under the influence (DUI) case means that once you have had a BAC test and it has been shown that you are over the legal limit of .08, there really isn't any additional evidence needed to prove you were driving while intoxicated.
No matter how sober you think you are, or how clear-minded you may be, if you are over the legal limit of .08 and you get stopped there is no doubt you will be charged.
There is action that your attorney can take in any case. Was the Breathalyzer tested for accuracy in a time frame that follows the law? Was the officer who administered the test certified and properly trained?
DUI conviction can lead to a suspension of your license and a hefty fine and even jail time.
Specifically, in Colorado, the first offense can lead to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Your license will be suspended for nine months.
For a second offense the penalty is even worse. You still can go to jail for up to a year but the fine is now at $1,500 and your license is suspended for a year.
After this the penalty is the same as for a second offense but your license is suspended for two year.
There is public service you must perform -- up to 104 hours.
If you have been stopped and have gotten charged with driving under the influence, you may want to contact an experienced attorney who is familiar with the ins and outs of the laws of Colorado.
Source: FindLaw, "Colorado DUI laws," accessed June 04, 2015