Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime in every state, which means Colorado is no exception. The penalties for being charged with DUI are stiff and they become even tougher with each subsequent offense. Colorado has strong penalties in place for those who are charged with DUI and are under the age of 21. So, what are the penalties for driving under the influence while underage in Colorado?
A first-time offense for driving under the influence while underage comes with penalties based on the person's blood alcohol content (BAC). If the BAC range is between .02 and .05 percent, the law calls for three months suspension of the driver's license, community service, fines and possibly jail time.
A first-time offense for driving under the influence while underage that involves a BAC over .05 percent comes with the following penalties, which are more geared toward charging the minor as an adult:
- Added suspension of the driver's license
A second offense for driving under the influence while underage with a BAC between .02 and .05 percent comes with penalties of a six-month driver's license suspension, community service and fines. If the person's BAC was above .05 percent and it is their second or subsequent charge, the person can face hefty fines, lengthy suspension of their driver's license and jail time.
Aside from being charged with driving under the influence while underage, the person could also face any of the following charges:
- Possession of a fake ID
- Solicitation of alcohol
- Distribution of alcohol to minors (if other minors are in the car)
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Child endangerment (if other minors are in the car)
Has your son or daughter been charged with underage driving under the influence in Colorado Springs? It's best to create a strong defense to these charges with the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Source: Findlaw, "What Are the Colorado DUI Laws?," accessed Jan. 16, 2018