Free Consultations

Can I start a business selling marijuana?

| Apr 5, 2021 | Drug Crimes |

If you have been looking for ways to earn money, you will have noticed that some industries boomed over the past year. If you decide that taking on Amazon or Tesla is beyond your reach, your thoughts might turn to marijuana.

A recent report found that a staggering 48% of Colorado adults are using marijuana. Thanks to its legalization and many people being stuck at home, unable to participate in their usual activities, sales in the state rose 26% to $2.2 billion. Clearly, there is potential to make money.

Can anyone sell marijuana?

When Colorado legalized recreational use, it did not mean that selling a bit of marijuana on the side also became legal. If you want to sell the drug, you must meet strict conditions:

  • You need a license: The application alone for a license will cost you a few thousand dollars. You then need to renew your license yearly. To get the approval, you need to pass background checks. You need to be licensed twice, once by the state and once by your local jurisdiction.
  • You need to be over 21 years old: You and anyone working in your store need to be over 21. Your customers must not be under 21 years of age as well.

There are limits to how much marijuana you can sell at a time. If a friend comes in and asks you for a few ounces because they are going away for the week, you would break the law if you sell them more than the allowed one ounce.

It is easy to make mistakes trying to understand Colorado’s marijuana laws and find yourself facing serious drug charges. Seek legal advice if your attempt to earn an income has left you in a worrying situation.

Archives

FindLaw Network

Get Legal Help Today

Call us at 719-377-4024 for a free consultation.