Shoplifting is a charge that’s sometimes misunderstood, so it’s wise that residents of Colorado and those who visit this state know a few basic points. People who are accused of shoplifting can face misdemeanor or felony charges.
A person can shoplift without ever trying to walk out of a store with merchandise they didn’t pay for. Changing price tags so that you can pay a lesser price for an item, for example, constitutes shoplifting. Concealing merchandise, even if you don’t try to leave the store, is also shoplifting.
What are the penalties for shoplifting in Colorado?
The penalties that are possible in Colorado depend on the value of the merchandise involved. In all cases, time in jail or prison and fines are possible. The court can sentence a person to one of these or both. These are the maximums for each charge:
- Up to $50: 6 months in jail, fine of $500
- $50 up to $300: 6 months in jail, fine of $750
- $300 up to $750: 1 year imprisonment, $1,000 fine
- $750 up to $2,000: 1.5 years in prison, $5,000 fine
- $2,000 up to $5,000: 1.5 years in prison, $100,000 fine
- $5,000 up to $20,000: 3 years in prison, $100,000 fine
- $20,000 up to $100,000: 6 years in prison, $500,000 fine
- $100,000 up to $1 million: 12 years in prison, $750,000 fine
- $1 million or more: 24 years in prison, $1 million fine
Anyone who has been charged with shoplifting should ensure that they know their legal rights. This can help them to determine what type of defense strategy is best to use. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you with this, so be sure to consult with one as soon as you know that you’re facing any type of theft of property charge.